环保公民权

企业环境政策和合规性

 

CO2 减排行动

Aruba 在 2010 年建立了 CO2 减排 20% 的企业目标,并结合采取了管理公用设施、以其他方式取代出差和远程办公等方法。为了达成这一目标,Aruba 评估并减少了设施和 IT 基础架构对环境的影响。我们的创新合理调整网络规模和远程办公举措为 CO2 减排带来了积极的效应。

设施

  • HVACR 碳排放

    我们行政办公楼中的供热、通风、空气调节与制冷 (HVACR) 系统仅在周一到周五的上午 6 点到晚上 8 点开放,额外有 2 小时用于周末和加班时间。工程大楼采用全天候运行的冷却设备,对此我们使用了能效更高的制冷装置用于降温。所有对温度敏感的电子设备整合到了数量有限的温控实验室中,用于减少整体 HVACR 负载。在所有场所都使用节能环境控制系统。
    可再生能源:Aruba 的能源供应商所提供的电力中,超过一半采用无 CO2 排放的方式发电,其中来自可再生发电源的数量越来越多。2007 年的电力结构包括无排放的核能 (23%)、大型水电站 (13%) 和可再升资源 (12%),例如风力、地热、生物质和小水电。其余部分来自天然气 (47%)、煤炭 (4%) 和其他化石燃料资源 (1%)。

  • 照明

    我们的设施中全部采用 T8 荧光灯,公司的安保部门在夜间巡逻期间会关闭不使用区域的灯光。

  • 阳光反射

    我们的大楼采用了白色或浅灰色屋顶,以最大程度反射阳光,减少 HVACR 冷却负载。

  • 显示器

    Aruba 采取了彻底的计划,清理并回收了 CRT,采用功率更低的 LCD 显示器。

  • 一次性产品

    Aruba 取消了塑料瓶装水,提供过滤水饮水机,使用再生纸板、纸箱和纸巾;在自助餐厅使用淀粉基水杯和餐具;采用环保的清洁用品;实现纸板、玻璃和铝制废品分类以便回收;并回收电子废品。

  • 用水

    采用自动水龙头和自动坐便器来减少水的用量。

IT 基础设施和远程办公

Aruba 有 1500 多位员工,其中超过 90% 的员工部署了高速 802.11n 和 802.11ac WLAN。所有 Aruba 员工的数据和语音应用程序都使用单个 WLAN,不论是在公司总部、分支机构还是家庭办公。平均每个无线接入点大约有 15 位用户。我们还为销售部门中频繁商务旅行的员工提供了这一解决方案,他们在出行期间也能连接到网络。

现场人员和出行员工配备了 Aruba 的远程接入点 (RAP) 技术。RAP 是低成本解决方案,将无线接入点与 VPN 安全和策略实施防火墙结合在一起。RAP 无需在使用它的笔记本电脑、PDA、智能手机或其他设备上安装任何软件。RAP 同时也实现了即插即用:采用 IT 部门的初始配置,无需对 RAP 进行任何更多的管理或配置。取而代之的是,员工只需将 RAP 插入本地网络(或者插入 3G 蜂窝调制解调器),然后 RAP 将与主或备份数据中心自动建立安全隧道、建立公司 SSID,然后启动用于数据和语音(包括公司电话分机呼叫)的安全会话。

这些措施使得 Aruba 只需维护非常精简的有线基础设施,数据交换机的数量也较少。此设计减少了数据机房的能耗,延长了后备不间断电源 (UPS) 电池的操作时间,并降低了 HVACR 系统的冷却负载。我们还能够尽可能减少与办公室添加、移动和改动相关的布线浪费,例如,在最近改动网络以为新员工提供服务时,相比传统方法,所需的 6 类铜缆减少了 10 公里。

从可持续的角度出发,我们的无线部署尽可能减少了所用的 PVC、聚乙烯、聚丙烯、合成橡胶、MIC、尼龙和酚醛树脂线缆绝缘、线缆管理/群集系统以及有线设备附件。

自 2010 年开始,Aruba 减少了机柜交换机的数量,将能耗和冷却需求减少了 20%。移动员工现在无需本地 IT 协助即可将其笔记本电脑连接到公司,不论其所在的国家/地区。这就不需要本地 IT 网络管理员前往分支机构,从而进一步减少了碳排放。

Aruba 通过 WLAN 技术继续实施其“合理调整网络规模战略”,达成了下列成果:

  • 合理规模调整之后停用的交换机端口数: 675
  • 合理规模调整之后停用的交换机数: 14
  • 预计通过合理规模调整每年节省的能耗:139,000 kWh
  • 预计远程工作者每年在家工作天数: 50,000
  • 预计远程工作者减少的 CO2 排放:275,000 公吨

产品设计和维护中的环保举措

Aruba 的硬件产品没有任何会受到磨损的一次性部件。

软件维护通过更新完成,由 Aruba 控制器集中管理并分发到网络上的接入点和控制器。此设计将打补丁服务技术人员的需求减到最低,节省了大量时间并减少燃油消耗。

相比不可升级的竞争对手产品,可升级设计使得客户能够延长使用 Aruba 网络的所有部件。

Aruba 的 AirWave 无线管理套件可以管理多个不同无线供应商的产品,从而可使用原本会弃用的产品来构建异构网络。

公司环境管理体系

Aruba 将产品生产外包给多个生产合作伙伴。每位合作伙伴的生产设施都通过了 ISO 14001 认证。Aruba 与合作伙伴一起:

  • 采取积极的环境主张,在现有环保法规和政策下,最大限度确保产品和生产流程的全球合规性;
  • 确保我们可以为合作伙伴和客户提供合适的支持来帮助其达成环保目标;
  • 实现这些举措为我们的竞争能力组合带来的任何机遇;以及
  • 以经济高效并且具备环境意识的方式落实这些举措。

Aruba 未设定环保绩效目标以及对其进行绩效审计的目标。合作伙伴的合规性根据其 ISO 14001 认证进行监视和审计。

Aruba 积极采取行动减少其包装数量并尽可能减少包装对环境的影响。公司使用环境友好的包装,或者针对包装建立收集和回收系统。我们的产品包装采用再生纸板/可回收纸板,按需打印市场营销材料以尽可能减少不必要的废品,我们的年度报告也使用再生纸打印。

Aruba 尽可能将物品整合为较大的发运包装,从而减少运输/发运所用的包装材料。我们鼓励客户回收用过的包装,并可以根据客户的要求取回使用过的包装材料。

我们的产品设计为可从外部拆解,以方便回收。只要可能,产品就只采用一种类型的聚合物或可回收塑料混料设计,并避免使用模塑/粘合金属。

遵守全球环境法律法规

Aruba Networks 在全球市场中致力于遵守各项适用环境法律法规。

为了确保我们的合规性,一个负责全公司的团队监视可能影响我们业务的环保法律的制定和实施。作为该工作的一部分,Aruba 开发了具体的计划,并采取措施以满足下列已实施环境法律法规的要求:

  • 2003 年 1 月 27 日 EU 指令 2002/95/EC“限制在电子电气产品中使用有害物质的指令 (RoHS)”
  • 2003 年 1 月 27 日 EU 指令 2002/96/EC“报废电子电气设备指令 (WEEE)”
  • 多德-弗兰克华尔街改革和消费者保护法案(“多德-弗兰克法案”)中条款 1502,“非冲突地区矿产”

遵守 EU 指令 2002/95/EC (RoHS)

欧盟限制在电子电气产品中使用有害物质的指令 (RoHS) 自 2006 年 7 月 1 日开始生效。RoHS 指令禁止在欧盟销售的电子设备中包含铅、镉、汞、六价铬、多溴联苯 (PBB) 和多溴二苯醚 (PBDE)。制造商有责任在其产品中消除这些物质。

Aruba 产品遵守 RoHS 指令,我们继续与供应商紧密合作以确保对方了解并遵守 RoHS 要求。

RoHS 指令允许网络系统产品在焊料中使用铅的例外情况,使得网络系统产业有充分的时间来寻求可靠的不含铅焊料。Aruba 最初产品中使用了焊料中含铅这种例外情况。不过,目前超过 80% 的产品已转为使用无铅焊料,因为我们确信这一技术可以保证产品稳定性和质量,满足客户需求。

根据请求,Aruba 可以按照合规性文件的形式提供符合 RoHS 指令标准的声明。

遵守 EU 指令 2002/96/EC (WEEE)

Aruba 当前遵守 EU 指令 2002/96/EC“报废电子电气设备指令”(WEEE)。

根据 2005 年 8 月 13 日生效的 EU WEEE 指令,直接向 EU 客户(不论是企业客户还是个人客户)销售所涉及电子设备的制造商需要在其使用寿命结束后收回此类产品。WEEE 指令还规定了用于标记和回收产品的指南。

为了遵守 WEEE 指令,Aruba 与其 EU 经销商共同协作,针对向 25 个欧盟成员国销售的所有相关 Aruba 产品实施所需的收集、处理、回收和处置过程。

遵守多德-弗兰克法案 – 条款 1502

Aruba Networks 致力于以道德和负责任的方式开展业务,并为客户提供符合道德要求采购的产品。根据美国证券交易委员会 (SEC) 2012 年发布的条例,像 Aruba 这样的上市公司需要就包含来自刚果民主共和国和周边国家/地区的特定矿物的产品进行文件披露。SEC 条例旨在解决与这些地区采矿作业相关的违反人权的情况。许多这些“冲突矿产”用于电子组件和设备中。

Aruba 不会故意从供应商采购包含冲突矿产的部件,不论直接还是间接来自 DRC 或周边国家/地区的“冲突矿产”。如果确定供应商违反了此项政策,我们将要求对方参与可度量风险削减工作,这些工作与经济合作及发展组织 (OECD) 指南保持一致。Aruba 采取电子业行为准则 (EICC) 标准冲突矿产报告格式,要求生产合作伙伴在向我们报告供应链情况时使用相同的格式。

我们将持续检查是否有任何冲突矿产进入我们的供应链,并计划继续实施符合道德要求的采购举措。Aruba 的目标是在所有销售产品中避免使用冲突矿产。

有关 Aruba Networks 冲突矿产政策的问题可发送到 environment@arubanetworks.com

如需有关冲突矿产的更多信息,请参阅 EICC 网站。

其他环境政策注意事项

Aruba 在开展业务的所有市场中严格遵守制定和实施的其他环境法律和法规。我们当前遵守中国的 RoHS 法规,并密切关注日本和美国的制定中标准。如上所述,Aruba 致力于遵守适用于我们业务的所有环境法律法规。

有关 Aruba Networks 环境合规性的问题可发送到 environment@arubanetworks.com

​​

Environmental citizenship

Corporate environmental policies and compliance

 

Initiatives For CO2 Emissions Reduction

Established in 2010, Aruba has a corporate goal of reducing CO2 emissions by 20% through a combination of managing facility utilities, alternatives to business travel, and telecommuting. To accomplish this goal Aruba has assessed and reduced the environmental footprint of our facilities and IT infrastructure. Our innovative network rightsizing and telecommuting initiative has had a profound impact in our CO2 emissions.

Facilities

  • HVACR Footprint

    The heating, ventilation, air conditioning, and refrigeration (HVACR) system in our administration building is run only from 6AM to 8PM, Monday through Friday, with a 2 hour override for weekend and after-hours use. Our engineering building has 24 x 7 cooling requirements, and we use an energy-efficient chiller for cooling, with a 2 hour override for weekend and after-hours use. All temperature-sensitive electronics equipment is being consolidated into a limited number of environmentally controlled labs to reduce the overall HVACR loading. Energy-saving environmental systems are used in all.
    Renewable Energy Sources: Aruba’s energy supplier derives more than half of the electricity it delivers from sources that emit no CO2, and an increasing amount comes from renewable sources of electricity. The power mix provided in 2007 consisted of non-emitting nuclear generation (23 percent), large hydroelectric facilities (13 percent) and renewable resources (12 percent) such as wind, geothermal, biomass and small hydro. The remaining portion came from natural gas (47 percent), coal (4 percent), and other fossil-based resources (1 percent).

  • Lighting

    T8 fluorescent bulbs are used throughout our facilities, and the company’s guard service turns off lights in areas that are not in use during evening walk-throughs.

  • Solar Reflection

    Our buildings feature white or light gray roofs to maximize sunlight reflection, lowering the HVACR cooling loading.

  • Computer Displays

    Aruba has completed an initiative to remove and recycle CRTs in favor of low-power LCD monitors.

  • Disposable Products

    Aruba has eliminated plastic drinking water bottles in favor of filtered water dispensers; uses recycled paper plates, boxes, and napkins; uses starch-based drinking glasses and utensils in its cafeteria; employs eco-friendly cleaning supplies; separates cardboard, glass, and aluminum waste for recycling; and recycles waste electronics.

  • Water Consumption

    Automatic faucets and toilets are employed to reduce water consumption.

IT Infrastructure & Telecommuting

Aruba has deployed high-speed 802.11n and 802.11ac WLANs for >90% of our 1500+ employees. A single WLAN is configured for data and voice applications for use by all Aruba employees located at our corporate headquarters, remote, branch offices, and home offices. We average roughly 15 users per wireless access point. We also provide this solution to the road warriors in our sales force, all of whom connect to the network while traveling.

Field personnel and traveling employees are provided with Aruba’s Remote Access Point (RAP) technology. RAP is a low-cost solution that combines a wireless access point with VPN security and policy enforcement firewall. RAP does not require any software to be installed on the laptop, PDA, smart phone or other devices with which it is used. RAP is also plug-and play: following initial provisioning by the IT department, no further management or configuration of the RAP is needed. Instead, the employee simply plugs the RAP into a local network (or plugs in a 3G cellular modem) and RAP automatically establishes a secure tunnel with our primary or back-up data center, establishes the corporate SSID, and initiates a secure session for both data and voice (including corporate phone extension calling).

These steps enable Aruba to maintain a very thin wired infrastructure with relatively few data switches. This design reduces data room power consumption, increases operating time from our back-up battery uninterruptible power supply (UPS), and reduces cooling loading on our HVACR system. We are also able to minimize wasted cabling associated with office adds, moves, and changes, e.g., in a recent network change to accommodate new employees we required 10km less Category 6 copper cable than would otherwise have been needed.

From a sustainability perspective, our wireless deployment allows us to minimize the use of PVC, polyethylene, polypropylene, synthetic rubber, MIC, nylon, and phenol formaldehyde cable insulation, cable management/trunking systems, and wiring device accessories.

Overall since 2010, Aruba has reduced the number of closet switches and lowered power and cooling requirements up to 20%. Mobile employees can now connect their laptops to the corporate LAN without local IT assistance, regardless of the county in which they’re operating. This eliminates the need for local IT network administrators to travel to branch offices, thereby further reducing our carbon footprint.

While Aruba continues to implement its “rightsizing the network strategies” utilizing our WLAN technology, we have achieved the following savings:

  • Number of switch ports decommissioned after Rightsizing: 675
  • Number of switches decommissioned after Rightsizing: 14
  • Estimated annual energy reduction from rightsizing: 139,000 kWh
  • Estimated annual telecommuter work-at-home days: 50,000
  • Estimated telecommuter CO2 emissions savings: 275,000 metric tons

Green Initiatives In Product Design and Maintenance

Aruba’s hardware products do not employ disposable parts subject to wear.

Software maintenance is accomplished via updates that are centrally managed from an Aruba controller and distributed to access points and controllers over the network. This design minimizes the need for dispatching service technicians, saving considerable time and lowering petrol/diesel consumption.

The upgradable design enables customers to continue using all or part of an Aruba network for a longer period than competing designs that are not upgradable.

Aruba’s AirWave Wireless Management Suite manages products from multiple different wireless vendors, allowing a heterogeneous network to be formed from products that would otherwise have to be discarded.

Company Environmental Management System

Aruba outsources product manufacturing to several manufacturing partners. Each partner’s manufacturing facility is certified to ISO 14001. Aruba works with our partners to:

  • Adopt a progressive environmental position to maximize global compliance with existing environmental regulations and policies on both products and processes;
  • Ensure that we can appropriately support our partners and customers in their desire to do the same;
  • Realize whatever opportunities these actions may add to our competitive competencies portfolio; and
  • Execute these in a manner that is both cost-effective and environmentally conscious.

Aruba does not set environmental performance targets and objectives against which performance is audited. Our partners’ compliance is monitored and audited in compliance with their ISO 14001 certification.

Aruba actively works to decrease the quantity and minimize the environmental impact of its packaging. Our company uses eco-friendly packaging or has a collection and recovery system for our packaging. We employ recycled/recyclable cardboard in product packaging, we use print-on-demand for marketing collateral to eliminate unnecessary waste, and we print our annual report on recycled paper.

Aruba reduces transportation/delivery packaging by consolidating materials into fewer but larger shipment whenever possible. We encourage our customers to recycle used packaging, and we will take back used packaging on request by our customers.

Our products are designed for ease of recycling by allowing them to be disassembled externally. Wherever possible products are designed with only one type of polymer or recyclable plastic blend, and molded/glued-in metal is avoided.

Compliance With Global Environmental Laws and Regulations

Aruba Networks is committed to compliance with all applicable environmental laws and regulations in our global markets.

To ensure our compliance, a company-wide team monitors the development and implementation of environmental laws and regulations which affect our business. As part of this effort, Aruba has developed specific plans and taken steps to meet the requirements of the following implemented environmental laws and regulations:

  • EU Directive 2002/95/EC of January 27, 2003 on the Restriction of the Use of Certain Hazardous Substances in Electrical and Electronic Equipment (RoHS)
  • EU Directive 2002/96/EC of January 27, 2003 on Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment (WEEE)
  • Section 1502 of the Dodd-Frank Wall Street Reform and Consumer Protection Act (the “Dodd-Frank Act”) regarding Conflict Free Minerals

Compliance With EU Directive 2002/95/EC (RoHS)

The European Union Restriction of the Use of Certain Hazardous Substances in Electrical and Electronic Equipment (RoHS) Directive took effect on July 1, 2006. The RoHS Directive prohibits the sale into the EU of electronic equipment containing lead, cadmium, mercury, hexavalent chromium, polybrominated biphenyls (PBBs) and polybrominated diphenylethers (PBDEs). Manufacturers are responsible for eliminating these substances from their products.

Aruba products comply with the RoHS Directive and we continue to work closely with our suppliers to ensure they understand and comply with the RoHS requirements.

The RoHS Directive allowed a lead-in-solder exemption for network system products to extend the time necessary for the network system industry to validate the reliability of lead-free solder. Aruba initially relied on the lead-in-solder exemption for our products. However, at this time more than 80% of our current products have transitioned to lead-free solder as we are confident this technology will ensure the product reliability and quality our customers demand.

On request, Aruba can provide a Declaration of Conformity with the RoHS Directive in the form of a compliance document.

Compliance With to EU Directive 2002/96/EC (WEEE)

Aruba is currently in compliance with the EU Directive on Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment, Directive 2002/96/EC (WEEE).

Under the EU WEEE Directive, which took effect on August 13, 2005, manufacturers of covered electronic equipment who sell directly to EU customers (whether they be businesses or private consumers) are required to take back such products at the end of their useful life. The WEEE Directive also specifies guidelines for labeling and recycling of products.

To comply with the WEEE Directive, Aruba has worked with its EU resellers to implement the required collection, treatment, recovery and disposal processes for all covered Aruba products they sell into the 25 EU Member states.

Compliance With The Dodd-Frank Act – Section 1502

Aruba Networks is committed to conducting business ethically and responsibly, and to providing our customers with ethically sourced products. Under the United States Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) rules issued in August 2012, public companies like Aruba are required to file disclosures on their products that contain specific minerals that originated from the Democratic Republic of the Congo and surrounding countries. The SEC rules are intended to address human rights violations related to mining operations in these areas. Many of these “conflict minerals” are used in electronics components and equipment.

Aruba does not knowingly source components containing conflict minerals from suppliers that directly or indirectly obtain “conflict minerals” from the DRC or surrounding countries. If we determine that a supplier may be violating this policy, we require them to engage in measurable risk mitigation efforts that are consistent with the Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD) guidance. Aruba has adopted the Electronics Industry Citizenship Coalition (EICC) standard conflict minerals reporting format, and we require our manufacturing partners to use the same format when reporting their supply chain status to us.

We will continue to examine whether any conflict minerals have entered our supply chain and plan to continue implementing ethical sourcing activities. Aruba’s goal is to avoid the use of conflict minerals in all of the products we sell.

Questions regarding Aruba Networks’ Conflict Minerals Policy can be addressed to environment@arubanetworks.com.

For further information regarding conflict minerals, please refer to the EICC website.

Additional Environmental Policy Considerations

Aruba closely follows the development and implementation of additional environmental laws and regulations in all of our markets. We are currently in compliance with China RoHS regulations and are closely watching developing standards in Japan and the United States. As stated above, Aruba is committed to compliance with all environmental laws and regulations applicable to our business.

Questions regarding Aruba Networks’ Environmental Compliance can be addressed to environment@arubanetworks.com.