什麼是網路拓撲?

什麼是網路拓撲?

網路拓撲通常以線條和物件的繪圖來表示,反映出整體的實體與邏輯拓撲方式。

網路拓撲有兩種不同類型:

  • 實體網路拓撲,當中存在多種網路元件。各種連接器代表實體網路纜線,而節點則代表實體網路裝置 (例如交換器)。
  • 邏輯網路拓撲,從更高的層級展示網路當中的資料如何流動。

網路探索工具

有各種不同工具可自動建立 Layer 2 及/或 Layer 3 網路的網路拓撲地圖。此外,多數使用 SNMP 或其他遠端監控通訊協定的監控工具也都能提供網路地圖。

探索 Layer 2 網路拓撲

在 Layer 2 網路中,您可以使用不同通訊協定來探索網路拓撲。有些廠商擁有更具機密性的專利通訊協定或網路探索機制 (例如網路廣播等),但最常見的通訊協定有:

  • 連結層探索通訊協定 (LLDP):這是一種非廠商導向的連結層通訊協定,網路裝置會以 IEEE 802 技術為基礎,在本地區域網路中使用此協定來傳播身分、功能和芳鄰,讓您得以自動探索與傳播節點芳鄰。
  • 思科探索通訊協定 (CDP):思科開發的專利資料連結層通訊協定,由各家網路廠商廣為使用與支援。

這些通訊協定可經由聽取 LLDP 或 CDP 訊息的方式,識別連接到特定網路連接埠的角色或裝置為何,也能宣告某裝置已連接至特定連接埠。多數交換器都支援這兩種通訊協定或其中一種。

另一種較複雜的方法是分析個別交換器的 MAC 位址資料表及/或跨距樹狀目錄通訊協定封包,藉此找出裝置連線的 MAC 位址。由於這種方法較耗費心力,因此通常是最後手段。

探索 Layer 3 網路拓撲

在 IP 型網路中,網際網路控制訊息通訊協定 (ICMP) 是標準的探索通訊協定。

路徑追蹤也是一種常用於識別不同網路躍點的工具 (Windows 中的 tracert),不過有些實作中會以 UDP 封包來取代 ICMP 封包。採用這種通訊協定時,您可以找到封包路徑,並且探索邏輯網路和路由器。

在單一本機網路中,您可以使用廣播 Ping、特定 IP 掃描工具或 ARP 快取探索 (和其他類似工具) 來識別相同網路中的不同節點。考慮到這些工具與廣播邊界的互動方式,這些工具只在單一網路中才有效。

透過靜態路由,組態的顯示就會相當容易。每個路由器都能顯示路由項目以及這些項目中最靠近的路由器。然而,多數現代網路都會使用路由通訊協定來交換資訊。

您可以透過動態路由通訊協定 (例如 OSPF 或 BGP) 查詢 IP 芳鄰,識別出宣告或接收路由規則的路由器。

探索虛擬網路拓撲

您可以使用 Hypervisor 來協助瞭解複雜的網路拓撲。每個 Hypervisor 都會新增至少一個虛擬交換器,來將 VM 網路橋接到實體網路。

用於顯示網路拓撲的解決方案會因 Hypervisor 而異。舉例來說,使用 VMWare vSphere 時,虛擬交換器可支援 CDP 和 LLDP。

使用 VMWare 標準版和 ESXi 時,虛擬交換器在聽取和/或廣播模式中只支援 CDP。VMware 的分散式虛擬交換器可支援 CDP 和 LLDP,但很可惜只在 Enterprise Plus 授權 (或 VSAN、NSX 授權) 中提供,中小企業通常無法使用。

探索無線網路拓撲

多數情況下,使用於 Wi-Fi 網路中的工具是為了簡化部署和設定。舉例來說,Aruba 透過 AirWave 8.2.4 推出的網路拓撲功能是有線網路的 Layer 2 地圖。有些工具還能提供 AP 本地化功能和訊號覆蓋地圖,讓 Wi-Fi 網路發揮最大效率。

許多智慧型手機應用程式可提供 Wi-Fi 裝置名稱和 SSID、訊號層及和所用管道,但使用這些工具並不能帶來無線網路部署中所用的專業工具提供的相同功能。

網路拓撲與網路流量比較

確認網路拓撲是否遵循其設計目的,以及記載任何未知網路或未知網路變更、這些未知項目的製作時間、製作者等,都相當實用。

為了更加瞭解網路拓撲和網路流量,請務必:

  • 探索網路的使用方式,以及網路中的流量及通訊協定為何種類型。
  • 分析資料,以便瞭解流量。交換器 (和虛擬交換器) 可經由不同通訊協定進行查詢,取得原始封包的資料;在某些情況下,還可取得個別網路流量中的資料。

    在現代資料中心裡,多數流量可能為橫向流動,而非直向流動,而您的網路拓撲在這類情況中可能較不理想。

準備好開始了嗎?

意見回饋

Network Topology

What is network topology?

Network topology is usually represented by a line and object drawing that reflects the overall physical and logical topology.

There are two different types of network topologies:

  • Physical network topology is the placement of various components of a network. The different connectors represent the physical network cables, and the nodes represent the physical network devices (like switches).
  • Logical network topology illustrates, at a higher level, how data flows within a network.

Network discovery tools

Different tools can automatically build a network topology map of a layer 2 and/or layer 3 network. Also, most monitoring tools that use SNMP or other remote monitoring protocols can provide a network map.

Discover a layer 2 network topology

For layer 2 networks, you can use different protocols to discover the network topology. Some vendors have more esoteric proprietary protocols or network discovery mechanisms (such as network broadcasts, etc.), but the most popular protocols are:

  • Link Layer Discovery Protocol (LLDP) is a vendor-neutral link layer protocol used by network devices for advertising their identity, capabilities, and neighbors on a local area network based on IEEE 802 technology. This enables you to automatically discover and advertise the node neighbors.
  • Cisco Discovery Protocols (CDP) is a proprietary data link layer protocol developed by Cisco, and it is used and supported by other network vendors.

These protocols can be used to identify who, or what, is connected to a specific network port by listening to the LLDP or CDP messages, or also to announce that a device is connected to a specific port. Most switches support one or both protocols.

Another more complex way is to analyze the MAC address table of each switch, and/or the spanning tree protocol packets, to find where the MAC addresses are connected. Because of the effort involved, this method is usually the last resort.

Discover a layer 3 network topology

In an IP-based network, Internet Control Message Protocol (ICMP) is the standard discovery protocol.

One common tool used to identify the different network hops is traceroute (tracert on windows), although some implementations might use UDP packets instead of ICMP packets. With this protocol, you can find the paths of a packet and discover the logical networks and routers.

On a single logical network, you can use a broadcast ping, specific IP scanning tools, or ARP cache discovery (among other similar tools) to identify the different nodes in the same network. Because of how these tools interact with broadcast boundaries, they are only effective inside a single network.

With static routing, it’s quite easy to display the configuration. Each router can show the route entries and the closest routers in those entries. However, most modern networks use a routing protocol to exchange information.

With dynamic routing protocols (like OSPF or BGP), you can query the IP neighbors to identify routers that are announcing or receiving the routing rules.

Discover a virtual network topology

You can use a hypervisor to help figure out the complex network topology. Each hypervisor adds at least one virtual switch used to bridge the VM networks to the physical networks.

Depending on the hypervisor, different solutions are used to show the network topology. For example, with VMWare vSphere, the virtual switches can support CDP and LLDP.

With VMWare standard and ESXi, the virtual switch supports only CDP, in listen and/or advertise mode. VMware distributed virtual switch supports both CDP and LLDP, but unfortunately, is included only in Enterprise Plus licenses (or VSAN or NSX licenses) that are generally out of the scope of SMB.

Discover a wireless network topology

In most cases, tools are used in the Wi-Fi networks to simplify deployment and configuration. For example, with AirWave 8.2.4, Aruba introduced a network topology feature, which is a layer 2 map of the wired network. Some tools can also provide access point localization and signal coverage maps to maximize Wi-Fi network efficiency.

Several smartphone apps can provide the Wi-Fi device names and SSIDs, signal level, and channels used, but using these tools does not provide the same capabilities or professional tools used for wireless network deployment.

Network topology vs. network flows

It’s useful to check that your network topology complies to what it was designed for, and to document any unknown networks or unknown network changes, when they were made, by whom, etc.

To better understand your network topology and network flow, make sure you:

  • Discover how the network is used and which kinds of traffic and communication protocols happen inside.
  • Analyze data to understand traffic. Switches (and virtual switches) can be queried with different protocols to grab the data on raw packets, or in some cases, to grab the data on each network flow.

    In modern data centers, most of the traffic could be east-west instead of north-south, and your network topology could be suboptimal for those cases.

Ready to get started?