Configuring Authentication Order and Priority

To configure the authentication order and priority, complete the following steps:

  1. In the Aruba Central app, select one of the following options:
    • To select a switch group in the filter:
      1. Set the filter to a group containing at least one switch.

        The dashboard context for the group is displayed.

      2. Under Manage, click Devices > Switches.
      3. Click the AOS-S or Config icon to view the switch configuration dashboard.
    • To select a switch in the filter:
      1. Set the filter to Global or a group containing at least one switch.
      2. Under Manage, click Devices > Switches.

        A list of switches is displayed in the List view.

      3. Click a switch under Device Name.

        The dashboard context for the switch is displayed.

      4. Under Manage, click Device.

        The tabs to configure the switch is displayed.

  2. Click Security > Authentication. The Authentication page is displayed.
  3. Expand the Authentication Order and Priority accordion. The Ports Settings table displays the Authentication Order and Authentication Priority specified for the ports.
  4. Click + to add ports with authentication order and priority. The Add Ports window is displayed.
  5. Configure the following parameters:
    • Ports—Select one or more ports for setting authentication order and priority.
    • Authentication Order—Select either 802.1X or MAC as the first method for authentication. For example, if you select 802.1X as the first authentication method, then 802.1X is used first for authenticating clients on the port.
    • Authentication Priority—Select either 802.1X or MAC as the first priority for authentication. Authentication priority takes precedence over authentication order, and the authentication method with higher priority is used to access clients.
  6. Click Save.

Editing the Authentication Order and Priority

To edit the authentication order and priority, select one or more ports for which you want to modify authentication order and priority, and click the edit icon.

When editing multiple ports, if authentication order and priority are different on ports, then the existing settings are preserved. You can over-ride the existing settings by selecting an order or a priority.

Deleting the Authentication Order and Priority

To delete the authentication order and priority, select one or more ports for which you want to delete authentication order and priority, and click the delete icon.