Configuring SNMPv3 on AOS-S Switches

SNMPv3 Simple Network Management Protocol version 3. SNMPv3 is an enhanced version of SNMP that includes security and remote configuration features. provides secured access to SNMP Simple Network Management Protocol. SNMP is a TCP/IP standard protocol for managing devices on IP networks. Devices that typically support SNMP include routers, switches, servers, workstations, printers, modem racks, and more. It is used mostly in network management systems to monitor network-attached devices for conditions that warrant administrative attention.  management stations using authentication and privacy protocols. You can add an SNMPv3 user and configure notification settings using UI groups.

To enable SNMPv3 on a switch, complete the following steps:

  1. In the Aruba Central app, select one of the following options:
    • To select a switch group in the filter:
      1. Set the filter to a group containing at least one switch.

        The dashboard context for the group is displayed.

      2. Under Manage, click Devices > Switches.
      3. Click the AOS-S or Config icon to view the switch configuration dashboard.
    • To select a switch in the filter:
      1. Set the filter to Global or a group containing at least one switch.
      2. Under Manage, click Devices > Switches.

        A list of switches is displayed in the List view.

      3. Click a switch under Device Name.

        The dashboard context for the switch is displayed.

      4. Under Manage, click Device.

        The tabs to configure the switch is displayed.

  2. Click System > SNMP. The SNMP page is displayed.
  3. Select SNMP mode as V3 from the drop-down to enable SNMPv3.

    Changing SNMP mode from V2C to V3 displays a confirmation message window stating that changing SNMP mode will remove existing SNMP configuration. Type REMOVE in the text box and click Proceed.

You must add at least one user to enable SNMPv3.

Configuring User Settings

You can add SNMPv3 users to provide secured access to SNMP management stations.

Adding an SNMPv3 User

To add an SNMPv3 user, complete the following steps:

  1. In the SNMP page, expand the User/Notification Settings accordion.
    The Users table displays the list of users with associated authentication mode and privacy mode.
  2. To add an SNMPv3 user, click +. The Add User window is displayed.
  3. Configure the following parameters:
    • User Name—Enter the user name.
    • Authentication Mode—Select either MD5 (Message Digest) or SHA (Secure Hash Algorithm) as the authentication mode to provide secured access to the user.
    • Password—Enter the authentication password.
    • Confirm Password—Re-enter the authentication password.
    • Privacy Mode—Select AES (Advanced Encryption Standard) or DES (Data Encryption Standard) as the privacy mode to provide secured access to the user.
    • Privacy Password—Enter the privacy password.
    • Confirm Privacy Password—Re-enter the privacy password.
     
  4. Click OK.

    By default, SNMPv3 users are assigned to the managerpriv group.

Editing an SNMPv3 User

To edit an SNMPv3 user, point to the row for the user, and click the edit icon.

Deleting an SNMPv3 User

To delete an SNMPv3 user, point to the row for the user, and click the delete icon.

Configuring Notification Settings

You can configure notification settings to send notifications to SNMPv3 users.

Adding an SNMPv3 Notification

To add a notification, complete the following steps:

  1. In the SNMP page, expand the User/Notification Settings accordion.
    The Notifications table displays the list of users with associated IP addresses for sending notifications.
  2. To add a notification, click +. The Add Notification window is displayed.
  3. Configure the following parameters:
    • IP address—Enter the destination IP address for sending notifications.
    • User Name—Select the user to whom the notifications should be sent.
  4. Click OK.

Editing an SNMPv3 Notification

To edit a notification, point to the row for the notification, and click the edit icon.

You can edit only the user name.

Deleting an SNMPv3 Notification

To delete an SNMPv3 user, point to the row for the notification, and click the delete icon.

Enabling Trap Categories

To enable trap categories, complete the following steps:

  1. In the Trap Settings accordion, select the authentication type used to connect to the SNMP server from the Authentication drop-down.
  2. In the Trap Category table, select the check box for the trap category you want to enable.
  3. Click Save Settings.

    The availability of trap categories differs based on the device model.