Moving Devices between Groups

You can move devices between groups. When devices are moved from one group to another group, the devices will adopt the destination group configuration.

You can assign only particular device type for which the group is created. For example, if a group is created for Access Points only, then only Access Points can be assigned to that group. You cannot assign other device types to it.

To move a device from one group to another group:

  1. In the Aruba Central app, set the filter to Global.
  2. Under Maintain, click Organization.

    By default, the Network Structure tab is displayed.

  3. Click the Groups tile.

    The Groups page is displayed.

  4. Select a device or devices from a group you want to move.

    To select a device or devices, expand a group from which you want to move devices. For example, expand the Unprovisioned Devices group and select the devices.

  5. Click the Move devices icon.

    The Move Devices page is displayed.

    You can assign only particular device type for which the group is created. For example, if a group is created for Access Points only, then only Access Points can be assigned to that group. You cannot assign other device types to it.

  6. Select the Destination Group from the drop-down list.

    For AOS-CX switches, you can select the Retain CX-Switch Configuration check box to retain the existing configuration of the switch. This option is available only for the AOS-CX Switches (stack and standalone) while moving them from a Template or UI group to a different UI group. If the configuration of the device being moved differs from that of the group, Aruba Centralretains the device configuration as device overrides.

  7. Click Move.

    The selected devices are moved to the destination group. These devices will adopt the destination group configuration.

If you move a Branch Gateway to a new group, the device will overwrite its 0-state configuration with its current configuration before being moved to the new group. This becomes its default 0-state configuration.
Once the device is moved to the new group, it reboots with config ID 0, downloads the configuration from the new group, and begins validation of the new group configuration. If the new configuration is successfully validated, the device assumes the new configuration and connects to Aruba Central. If the validation fails, then the device automatically rolls back to its config ID 0 which, in this case, remains the configuration of its previous group. The connectivity to Aruba Central is not lost during this process.
When this new group configuration becomes valid after a previous rollback to config ID 0, the device establishes connectivity to Central, receives the valid configuration, and is then shown in the Update Successful state.
If you want the device to revert to true 0 config, then you must manually erase the device. This feature is available only for devices running the compliant ArubaOS 10 image. In addition, this feature is not available while moving devices between groups that are in different physical locations.

MSP mode does not support moving devices across different groups.

The following animation shows you how to move devices between groups.